Deer Season

$21.95 $10.98
Article number: Flanagan DS
Availability: In stock (6)

Congratulations to Erin Flanagan for winning the Edgar Award from Mystery Writers of America for best First Novel by an American Author in 2022.

About the Book

It’s the opening weekend of deer season in Gunthrum, Nebraska, in 1985, and Alma Costagan’s intellectually disabled farmhand, Hal Bullard, has gone hunting with some of the locals, leaving her in a huff. That same weekend, a teenage girl goes missing, and Hal returns with a flimsy story about the blood in his truck and a dent near the headlight. When the situation escalates from that of a missing girl to something more sinister, Alma and her husband are forced to confront what Hal might be capable of, as rumors fly and townspeople see Hal’s violent past in a new light.

A drama about the complicated relationships connecting the residents of a small-town farming community, Deer Season explores troubling questions about how far people will go to safeguard the ones they love and what it means to be a family.


About the Author

Erin Flanagan is a professor at Wright State University. She is the author of two short story collections, The Usual Mistakes (Nebraska, 2005) and It’s Not Going to Kill You, and Other Stories (Bison Books, 2013).


University of Nebraska Press | Flyover Fiction Series | 2022 | Paperback | 320 pages 

Some Reviews

"This is a standout novel of small-town life, powered by the characters' consequential determination to protect their loved ones at any cost."

Publishers Weekly, starred review

“With incisive prose and finely wrought tension, Deer Season is an absorbing tale of a small town that is both severed and knitted together by tragedy. This book does not just return us to a forgotten place and time; it recreates it for us. This is fiction at its finest.”

—Melissa Fraterrigo, author of Glory Days 

0 stars based on 0 reviews